Adventure Trips in U.S. States : What to Expect at Airports and Borders
You probably know by now that taking adventure trips in U.S. states is not as easy as it was before the COVID-19 pandemic hit the country.
More so now that there are nineteen (19) states flagged as hot spots for having high rates of active COVID-19 cases. The 19 states include California, Florida, Arizona, Texas, Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Nevada, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Utah.
If you are from any of these states expect that there may be more than just the common mandatory requirements that might be required. On the other hand, it would be wise to include these states in your travel itinerary.
As of the moment, the state of Wisconsin has not issued a list of any requirements for state visitors. However, know that Wisconsinites themselves have been instructed to either postpone or cancel all travel within the region.
What Do Most States Generally Require?
Finding out what a state specifically imposes before an interstate traveller is allowed to enter is an important step, as this will help you prepare or decide on where to travel. Know that there are jurisdictions that have state-specific requirements and conditions not commonly required by other states.
First off, mandatory testing upon arrival and undergoing mandatory quarantine while awaiting test results are the most common entry requirements. Some states are more lenient as it will suffice to show proof that they have tested negative within the last 72 hours,
U.S. States that Impose Stricter Rules on Entering Interstate Visitors
In Alaska, even if a traveler submits proof of a negative test result taken within the last 72 hours, an interstate visitor who wishes to enter Alaska must still take another test if they plan to stay for more than 14 days. Moreover, interstate visitors are given instructions to minimize interactions with Alaska locals until results of the new test have come out.
If the visitor with proof of negative-test is a tourist from another country, the second test will be taken immediately upon arrival at the airport, while a third test will be required after 7 to 14 days of state. Similarly, tourists will have to stay quarantined while waiting for the test results.
Florida specifically requires Connecticut, New Jersey and New York residents to shoulder any expenses incurred for the required 14-day quarantine they must undergo before they can enter Florida. Those found violating the state’s entry requirement will be fined by up to $500 dollars or be jailed for up to 60 days.
Hawaii does not have state-specific conditions like Florida’s, although fines on violators could go as high $5,000, while prison time could last up to a year.
Illinois does not have strict requirements except for the mandatory testing and quarantine while awaiting test results. The difference however, is that the state slaps a penalty of $500 per day on violators, up to a maximum amount of $7,000 and without option for jail time.
At the Maine border, only residents of Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, New Jersey and New York are allowed to enter without restrictions and stay in Maine’s commercial lodges.
Those coming from other states have to comply with the basic testing and quarantine in their hotel or campsite. During quarantine, they can leave their place of quarantine only for specific outdoor activities and when no one else is around.
The state of Massachusetts allows visitors from Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York and New Jersey to enter without undergoing self-quarantine. Visitors not coming from the aforementioned states will have to undergo quarantine for 14 days.